Buyer's guide

12 Best AI Visibility Audit Tools in 2026 for Agencies

For an agency, the audit tool to start with is Rankscale: its page audit penalises blocked AI crawlers and checks schema, its pricing says which engines it asks through their own interface and which through an API, and the $99 Pro plan holds ten client dashboards. Semrush is the choice for clients who already use it: it says answers come from real requests, with ChatGPT in search mode, and its site audit checks eight AI crawlers against robots.txt, at $99 a client. For all seven engines, Grok and Claude included, checked every day, with the fixes written as well as found, the tool we use for client work is Cituna: $399 a month covers ten client brands with white-label reports. High Street's team also works on Cituna, so we are not neutral about it (how we handle that). For a one-off audit of a prospect, VisibilityAudit.io runs 10 prompts on ChatGPT, Claude and Gemini with live web search for $10. Every figure below comes from the vendor's own pages, read on 29 September 2026.

By High Street editorial teamPublished 29 September 2026Tools 12Reading time 20 min

Want to see what an audit says about your own business? Get a free visibility check and we'll show you who the engines recommend instead.

How we ranked them

Cituna is placed third as our pick: it's the tool we use for client work, and High Street's team also works on it. Every other tool is ranked by the tests below.

An AI visibility audit has two halves. The answer audit asks the engines the questions a client's buyers ask and records whether the client is named or cited, who is named instead and which pages the engines read. The site audit checks whether AI crawlers can reach the client's pages and whether those pages say plainly what they are. An agency needs both: the first shows the gap, the second explains part of it. We ranked on four points, in order:

  1. Does it audit both halves? Tools that check the answers and the site rank ahead of tools that check one. Scanners that score a page without asking any engine are listed separately.
  2. Does the vendor say how it asks each engine? A tool can send the prompt through the engine's own interface, the way a buyer does, or through the developer API, where web search is a tool that has to be switched on; without it the model answers from what it already knows (OpenAI's web search guide, read 25 September 2026). The two can name different businesses, so a client report should say which one produced the numbers. Tools that state their method rank ahead.
  3. What does one client cost? For subscriptions, the cheapest published plan that holds ten client brands, divided by ten. For tools that sell audits one at a time, the price of one audit.
  4. Tiebreak: a white-label or branded report you can hand to the client.

We didn't run the same audit through every tool, which would need identical prompts run at the same moment and every answer checked by hand. Prices are monthly, in US dollars, before VAT unless stated. One finding from our own research is why the answer half has to look past the client's own site: across three weeks of software questions, the engines cited 25 third-party sites 2,061 times and the vendor's own site 106 times (where AI answers come from). An audit that doesn't show which outside pages the engines read can't tell a client where to get mentioned.

The comparison table

All figures from each vendor's own pages, read 29 September 2026. Monthly prices in US dollars before VAT unless stated. "Per client" is our arithmetic: the cheapest published plan that holds ten client brands, divided by ten, or the price of one audit where the tool sells them one at a time. Listed in our ranked order.
ToolAnswer auditSite auditHow it asks the enginesPer clientClient report
Rankscale10 engines on the plan cards, your own prompts, 240+ regionsPage audit: blocked AI bots, schemaStated: interface for AI Overviews, Grok and Copilot; API for GPT-5, Sonar and Gemini$9.90 (Pro, $99)Share links; white-label listed on Growth ($385)
Semrush AI Visibility ToolkitChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, AI Mode; 25 of your prompts8 AI crawlers vs robots.txt, schema, llms.txtStated: real requests, not APIs; ChatGPT in search mode$99 (per domain)PDF $10, white-label $20 a month
Cituna7 engines daily, prompts from Search ConsoleAI crawler access and rendering, structure, schemaNot stated$39.90 (Max, $399)White-label on every plan
Gumshoe6 models, 80 prompts through 8 buyer personasCrawl and read each URL, JSON-LD, schemaStated: model and web-search setting for each$99 (per project)Share links and CSV
VisibilityIndexChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity (Claude on Pro), one locationCrawler blocking, schema, llms.txt (not scored)Stated: official APIs, live web search on$189 or $249 a reportPDF per run
GeoptieAny 4 of 7 engines per brand, 123 marketsFree GEO audit: content, schema, bot accessNot stated$8.25 ($990 a year)White-label PDF
Otterly.AIChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, Copilot; 3 more as add-ons19 AI crawlers vs robots.txt and live serverNot stated$18.90 (Standard, $189)Branded PDF on every plan
LLMAuditChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, weeklyUp to 10 pages scored, with fix listNames GPT-4o; route not stated$39 (billed annually)White-label on custom plan
VisibilityAudit.ioChatGPT, Claude, Gemini; prompts drafted from your siteNoneStated: live web search on every query$10 for 10 promptsRead-only share link
SE RankingChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, AI Mode, AI Overviews115+ SEO checks; no AI crawler check listedStated: through the interface, as a user sees it$12.90 (Core, $129)White-label +$69, annual only
ProfoundChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews; 25 prompts per pitch, 100 per clientAI-sourced traffic only; no access test listedStated: from the consumer experience, not API outputs$9.90 a prospect audit; $399 a client workspaceCSV and JSON; white-label not stated
Ahrefs Brand Radar6 engines in a 475M+ prompt index; your own prompts extraLogs AI crawler visits; no access test listed"Search-backed prompts"; route not statedFrom $199, no per-brand feeScheduled PDF reports

"Per client" is our arithmetic from each vendor's published limits, and plans hold different numbers of prompts, so read each entry before comparing. Check the linked pages before buying; this category reprices often.

Which tool fits which agency job?

  • Auditing a prospect before they sign. Ahrefs Brand Radar looks up any domain in its prompt index with no per-brand fee, and VisibilityAudit.io runs 10 prompts on three engines for $10. Profound's $99 agency plan includes ten week-long prospect audits a month, Otterly.AI gives agency partners pitch workspaces, and Peec AI includes free seven-day pitch projects on its agency plans.
  • The onboarding audit for a new client. Rankscale, Semrush and Gumshoe each pair an answer audit with a site check and say how they ask the engines, so the baseline can be explained line by line.
  • The monthly client report. Geoptie is the cheapest white-label report here at ten clients. Cituna checks all seven engines, Grok included, every day and writes the fixes. Otterly.AI brands its PDFs on every plan.

The 12 audit tools, one by one

1. Rankscale: clearest about the route to each engine

Best for: agencies that need to explain their method and audit the client's pages in the same tool.

Rankscale's credit calculator sorts engines into two groups: "GUI engines", asked through their own interface (it names AI Overviews, Grok and Copilot), and "API engines", which include GPT-5, Perplexity's Sonar models, Gemini and Mistral. Most engines cost 0.25 credits per prompt; Claude costs 2. The page audit scores any URL with rule-based checks, "no LLMs", including a penalty for each blocked AI bot such as GPTBot and PerplexityBot and another when schema and visible content disagree. Pro is $99 a month for 1,200 credits (up to 4,800 answers), 10 brand dashboards and 50 page audits, so each of ten clients gets about 480 answers and five page audits a month. Regions are set per search term, from 240+, and there's a seven-day Pro trial.

Where it falls short: it doesn't say whether web search is on for the API engines, so ChatGPT's answers through the GPT-5 API may differ from what a buyer sees in the ChatGPT app. Claude costs eight times as many credits as ChatGPT, and white-label options appear on the Growth card at $385. rankscale.ai/pricing

2. Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit: the site audit most specific to AI crawlers

Best for: clients who already live in Semrush, and audits that must be run from a set country.

Semrush says prompt responses "are captured from real requests and not via any APIs of LLMs", and that its ChatGPT data comes from the latest model "in search mode". The toolkit is $99 a month with 25 tracked prompts (daily, in 220+ countries and territories), one domain for Brand Performance, which runs Semrush's own questions through ChatGPT, Google AI Mode, Perplexity and Gemini each week, and AI Search checks in Site Audit for up to 100 pages. Those checks look for AI crawlers blocked by robots.txt across 8 major crawlers, plus schema markup, crawlable navigation, internal links and llms.txt. Each extra Brand Performance domain is $99 a month, so ten clients cost $990, and 50 more prompts cost $60. PDF export is a $10-a-month report add-on; branding and white-label are $20.

Where it falls short: there's no free trial of the toolkit, and its help pages don't list Claude or Grok. Brand Performance runs Semrush's questions rather than yours and updates weekly, and the help pages disagree on which engines Prompt Tracking covers. semrush.com help centre

3. Cituna: seven engines every day, with the fixes written

Best for: agencies that report on all seven engines daily and sell the fixes as well as the report.

Cituna's audit covers five checks: whether the brand was mentioned or cited on each prompt and at what position; whether AI crawlers can reach and render the pages, with answer-first structure and schema; who wins the prompts the client loses; which third-party pages the engines pull from; and who links to and mentions the brand. A scan gives overall, SEO, AEO and GEO scores and a fix list in which each item is tied to the answers behind it, with its effort. Prompts come from the client's own Search Console data. Every plan checks ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode every day and includes Search Console, weekly reports and white-label reports: Starter is $39 (1 brand, 10 prompts, API and MCP read tools), Pro $119 (3 brands, 30 prompts, competitor tracking) and Max $399 (10 brands, 90 prompts). The first scan is free with no card; its report opens when you start the three-day trial, which needs a card.

Of the tools here with published prices, it's the cheapest way we found to check all seven of those engines every day for ten clients. Rankscale covers them too, but at its published credit rates the same 90 prompts a day would use at least 8,100 credits a month before counting AI Overviews and Grok, more than the 5,500 on its $385 Growth plan.

Where it falls short: its pages don't say how it asks each engine (interface or API, web search on or off) or where the questions are asked from, which is the second test on this list. Max is the largest published plan and holds 90 prompts, nine per client, with no published way to add more. Competitor tracking starts on Pro, self-serve billing is monthly only, Microsoft Copilot isn't covered, and the trial card lists only the top three prompts as tracked daily. What Cituna's audit checks

If you'd rather have us run this audit for your business, get a free visibility check and we'll start with the questions your customers ask.

4. Gumshoe: model names and web-search settings, engine by engine

Best for: clients who sell to several distinct kinds of buyer.

Gumshoe builds buyer personas and asks each one's questions: Starter runs 8 personas with 10 prompts each on 6 models, 480 answers in one monthly audit. Its pricing lists every model in its catalogue with whether web search is on: on for GPT-5.4 mini, AI Overviews, Gemini 3.5 Flash, Gemini 3.1 Pro and Perplexity's Sonar; off for GPT-5.4, Claude Sonnet 4.6 and Opus 4.8 (web-search versions are an opt-in on Pro), Grok 4.3 and DeepSeek. The technical audit checks whether a model can crawl and read each URL, covering JSON-LD, schema, structure and metadata, 10 runs a month on Starter. Starter is $99 a month per project; Pro, at $299, adds sentiment, citation and content audits, daily snapshot checks and 50 technical runs. There's no limit on clients, who can be added as viewers, and a one-time free sample (4 personas, 5 prompts each, 4 models) needs no card.

Where it falls short: half the catalogue runs without web search, so some answers come from what the model already knows rather than today's web. AI Mode isn't in the catalogue, per-project pricing makes ten clients $990 a month, and white-label and PDF reports aren't mentioned (it offers share links and CSV). gumshoe.ai

5. VisibilityIndex: a one-off audit for a local client

Best for: agencies selling a one-time audit to a local service business.

VisibilityIndex sells single reports with no subscription. Standard is $189 for 20 prompts on ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity (60 answers); Pro is $249 for 25 prompts with Claude added (100 answers). It says engines are "queried via official APIs with live web search enabled, not UI scraping or cached data". Each report covers one business in one location, entered as a city and state, and scores whether it appears, its rank, whether it's recommended, mentioned or cited, the competitors for each kind of search and the sources behind each answer. Separate pass, warn and fail checks cover Organization or LocalBusiness schema, obvious crawler blocking, llms.txt, review platforms and contact details; these don't change the score. Each run comes with a PDF.

Where it falls short: one location per report, in a city-and-state format, and the pages don't mention a country setting. There's no Grok, AI Overviews or AI Mode, no re-runs are included, white-label isn't mentioned, and you enter an email before checkout. visibilityindex.ai

6. Geoptie: the cheapest white-label report at ten clients

Best for: agencies sending a monthly branded PDF to many small clients.

Professional is $990 a year ($83 a month on annual billing) for 10 brands and 100 prompts checked daily, $8.25 per client a month. Each brand tracks any 4 of 7 engines (ChatGPT, Claude, Perplexity, Gemini, Copilot, AI Mode and AI Overviews) with competitors, sentiment and cited domains and URLs, in 123 markets. White-label puts your company name, logo and colour on every exported report and removes the Geoptie footer, and Professional adds a REST API and an MCP server. For the site half, Geoptie's free GEO audit scans content, schema, technical signals and bot access across six dimensions, with no signup.

Where it falls short: its pages don't say how it asks the engines. Four engines per brand means choosing three to leave out for each client, a prompt tracked in three countries uses three prompts, and there's no free trial of the platform. geoptie.com/pricing

7. Otterly.AI: crawler tests against the live server

Best for: agencies that want branded PDFs on every plan and audits for prospects.

Otterly's GEO Audit tests 19 AI crawlers against a site's robots.txt and live server, requesting the page as each bot and recording the response, and a crawlability check compares the static HTML a crawler such as OAI-SearchBot gets with the rendered page. On the answer side it records mentions, share of voice, average rank, sentiment and every cited URL daily on ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity and Copilot. Standard is $189 a month for 100 prompts, unlimited workspaces and 5,000 GEO URL audits; Gemini and AI Mode add $59 each and Claude $109. Reports export to PDF or CSV and can be branded for clients on every plan, and agency partners get 150 prompts on Standard and pitch workspaces for prospect audits.

Where it falls short: its pages say only that it analyses "AI Search platforms directly", not how. There's no Grok, all seven of its engines cost $416 a month on Standard, and the pages disagree on whether the free trial is 7 or 14 days (neither needs a card). otterly.ai/pricing

8. LLMAudit: page audit and prompts on one weekly plan

Best for: a single-brand client who needs the site fixes more than daily tracking.

Starter is $39 a month billed annually: 10 prompts tracked weekly on ChatGPT (it names GPT-4o), Perplexity, Gemini and Claude, and up to 10 pages audited for AI readiness, with a score and a fix list. Pro, $71 a month billed annually, has 30 prompts, 50 pages and competitor comparison in beta. The home page adds GA4 traffic analytics and server-log data on 20+ AI crawlers.

Where it falls short: each plan covers one domain, so every client needs a plan of their own; refresh is weekly; and white-label is on the custom agency plan only. Beyond naming GPT-4o, it doesn't say how it asks the engines. llmaudit.ai/pricing

9. VisibilityAudit.io: the cheapest one-off answer audit

Best for: a quick paid look at a prospect's answers before a pitch.

You pay per audit: $5 for 5 prompts, $10 for 10, $25 for 25, $40 for 50 and $80 for 100, and each prompt runs on ChatGPT, Claude and Gemini "with live web search enabled on every query". It crawls the site and drafts buyer prompts for you to approve or reject, and you pay only for the ones you approve. The report scores each engine, shows position and competitors, and comes with a read-only link a client can open without logging in, which is how the page suggests agencies white-label it. A monthly subscription saves up to 30%.

Where it falls short: it checks answers only, with no site audit, and covers three engines. The page quotes $19 for 25 prompts in places and $25 in its price table. visibilityaudit.io

10. SE Ranking: answers seen as a user sees them, beside a classic site audit

Best for: agencies whose client reports are still mostly Google SEO.

SE Ranking says its AI tracker "retrieves results through direct UI-based monitoring" and captures responses "as a real user would see them". Core is $129 a month with 10 projects and 100 prompts tracked daily across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, AI Mode and AI Overviews, showing mentions, linked mentions, position, up to five competitors and cited sources by type, in 7 markets and five languages. The site audit runs 115+ checks. The Agency Pack adds white-label and 30 client seats for $69 a month, billed annually only, and the trial is 14 days with no card.

Where it falls short: the site audit's list of checks doesn't include AI crawler access, llms.txt or schema, so it's a classic SEO audit next to the AI tracker rather than an AI readiness check, and its FAQ describes an AI visibility audit as running the free checker and then tracking prompts. There's no Claude or Grok, and the page doesn't say which seven markets. seranking.com/subscription.html

11. Profound: ten prospect audits a month for $99

Best for: agencies that pitch often and want a week of daily data on each prospect.

Profound's Agency Growth plan is $99 a month plus add-ons and includes 10 pitch workspaces a month "to run audits for prospects": each tracks 25 prompts daily on ChatGPT, Perplexity and Google AI Overviews for seven days, with the option to extend, and five more trial workspaces cost $199 a month. Client workspaces are $399 a month each, with 100 prompts daily on the same three engines, CSV and JSON exports, AI-sourced traffic tracking across unlimited domains through Google Analytics, and 400 agent credits for content work. Profound says its reports capture responses "directly from the consumer experience, not API outputs". The plan includes 5 agency seats.

Where it falls short: the site half is traffic attribution, not a check on whether crawlers can reach the pages. Only three engines are tracked on Agency Growth (more are listed as a capability), ten clients cost $4,089 a month, the Growth plan has no API, and white-label isn't mentioned. tryprofound.com/pricing

12. Ahrefs Brand Radar: any prospect, no per-brand fee

Best for: auditing prospects and their competitors before they're clients.

Brand Radar looks brands up in an index of 475M+ prompts (the pricing page's figure) modelled on real searches, across AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Copilot, Gemini and Perplexity, and Ahrefs says it queries them "with search-backed prompts". It shows mentions, citations, impressions, AI share of voice, cited pages and domains and the full responses, and the checker page says "Unlimited projects. Analyze any domain's AI visibility." Brand Radar AI starts at $199 a month. Your own prompts are counted in checks, one per platform, location and update: Lite ($129) includes 5 prompts and 150 checks a month, and packages add 2,500 checks for $50, 7,000 for $100 or 25,000 for $250. Claude, available for your own prompts only, uses 8 checks per update. Report Builder emails scheduled PDF reports to up to 50 recipients who don't need an Ahrefs account.

Where it falls short: the site half is Bot Analytics, which logs AI crawler visits (free in beta); none of the pages we read list a robots.txt, llms.txt or schema check. Ahrefs doesn't say whether it asks through the interface or the API, white-label isn't mentioned, and its pages showed prices in different currencies depending on the page. ahrefs.com/pricing

Page-only scanners

Two tools the engines name for this search score a page without asking any engine anything. They're useful for the site half of an audit, and cost little or nothing.

Firecrawl AI Visibility Audit is free with no account. It scrapes one URL, reads robots.txt and llms.txt, and scores AI crawler access, schema.org data, how citable the content is, expertise and trust signals and entity clarity. Its own FAQ says it doesn't query ChatGPT or Perplexity. firecrawl.dev

AI Search Visibility scores one URL on seven weighted branches, including whether GPTBot, ClaudeBot, PerplexityBot and Googlebot can reach it, schema and how citable the page is. Its pricing page sells one-off packs ($5 for 10 audits, $19 for 50, $49 for 200, after 5 free), while its audit page says paid packs start at $29 a month for 100, so check before you buy. PDF and Markdown exports and a read-only link are included; white-label is on its roadmap. aisearchvisibility.ai

What the engines name for this search

We asked all seven engines "AI visibility audit tool" through Cituna on 29 September 2026. Semrush came up in five of the seven answers, and Ahrefs and SE Ranking in at least four each. ChatGPT named five tools, including VisibilityAudit.io, LLMAudit and AI Search Visibility; Grok named ten, several of them free one-off scanners; Claude asked which kind of audit we meant. None of the seven named Cituna. The answers split the job the way this list does: Perplexity separated a free checker, an audit tool that diagnoses why, and a tracking platform, and AI Overviews listed how easily crawlers can read a site alongside mentions, sources and sentiment.

Also checked

Peec AI checks which of 40+ AI bots a site's robots.txt allows and gives agency plans free seven-day pitch projects. Its brand plans are $95, $245 and $495 a month for 1, 2 and 5 projects, and its agency plans are sold as annual credit bundles; its pages don't say how it asks the engines. Amplitude offers a free AI visibility report and includes AI Visibility, with limited volumes, on its free plan, without publishing a price for it. ViAudit, which ChatGPT and Grok both named for this search, didn't resolve when we tried it on 29 September. For free checks that ask the engines, see the free AI visibility checkers we tested, and for the full cost of a ten-client roster on 15 tools, the best AI visibility tools for agencies.

Questions agencies ask

What does an AI visibility audit check?

Two things. The answer audit asks AI engines the questions a business's buyers ask and records whether it is named or cited, at what position, who is named instead and which pages the engines read. The site audit checks whether AI crawlers can reach and read the pages, usually through robots.txt, schema and page structure. Most tools on this list do both; Firecrawl and AI Search Visibility only score pages, and VisibilityAudit.io only checks answers.

Which AI visibility audit tool should an agency use for client reports?

It depends on what the report has to cover. If it covers ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode every day and you sell the fixes too, the tool we use for client work is Cituna: $399 a month for ten brands with white-label reports (High Street's team also works on Cituna). If you need to explain how each engine was asked, Rankscale and Semrush state it. For the lowest cost per client with white-label PDFs, Geoptie is $990 a year for ten brands.

Is a free AI visibility audit enough for a client?

For a first look at a prospect, often yes: Ahrefs' free checker needs no signup, Gumshoe gives one free sample audit, and Firecrawl and Geoptie scan pages for free. For a client you report to, you need the same questions asked again on a schedule so you can show whether a fix worked, and free audits don't do that.

Why do two audit tools give different results for the same brand?

Engines sample their answers, so the same question returns different brands from run to run. Tools also differ in whether they ask through the engine's own interface or its API, whether web search is on, which country the question is asked from, and whether they use your prompts or their own prompt database. Compare tools on the same prompts over several weeks, and say in the client report which method produced the numbers.

How much does an AI visibility audit cost per client?

From nothing for a page scan to $249 for a one-off report. At ten clients, most subscriptions on this list work out at $8.25 (Geoptie, billed annually) to $99 (Semrush, Gumshoe) per client a month; Profound's client workspaces are $399 each. For one-off audits, VisibilityAudit.io charges $10 for 10 prompts on three engines, Profound's pitch workspaces work out at $9.90 each, and VisibilityIndex charges $189 or $249 a report. All prices are from vendor pages read on 29 September 2026.

Can an audit tool check whether AI crawlers can reach a site?

Several can. Semrush's Site Audit checks robots.txt against 8 major AI crawlers, Otterly.AI tests 19 against robots.txt and the live server, Rankscale's page audit penalises each blocked AI bot, and Firecrawl reads robots.txt and llms.txt for free. Ahrefs logs AI crawler visits rather than testing access.

Want the audit done for you?

We'll send you who gets named for your customers' questions on seven AI engines, who doesn't, and the three fixes that matter most.

Get a free visibility check

Or read how our AI search visibility service works.