Key takeaways
- Only two of the eight rival vendors say how they collect answers: SE Visible uses a browser interface, and Rankscale marks which engines it reads through their interface.
- Cadence ranges from hourly (Rankscale) to monthly (Rankscale and ZipTie), and LLM Pulse prices weekly and daily plans separately. Cairrot does not state its refresh rate.
- Every rival here says it records citations. Only Cairrot says it records where your page sits in Perplexity's source list.
- Peec AI and Profound did not show a paid price on the pages we read on 28 September 2026.
- We make no accuracy claim for any tool: we did not run the same questions through all nine on the same day.
Rather have someone else run the tracking? Get a free visibility check and we'll show you, engine by engine, where you're named and where a competitor is named instead.
Which tracking tool fits which job?
| Tool | Best for | Engines covered | Entry price | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cituna | Daily checks on seven engines, with fixes written | 7: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok, AI Overviews, AI Mode | $39 | 3 days, card required |
| Rankscale | Setting your own cadence, hourly to monthly | Credit menu incl. ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Claude, Grok, Copilot, DeepSeek, Mistral | $20 (Essentials) | 7 days on Pro, no charge until day 7 |
| SE Visible | Long question lists, answers read through a browser | 5: ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Mode, Perplexity, AI Overviews | $99 | 10 days |
| LLM Pulse | Weekly tracking on five engines at a lower price | 5: ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Gemini | €49 weekly, €79 daily | 14 days on weekly plans, payment method required |
| Otterly.AI | A small daily question set with Copilot included | 4: ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, Copilot | $29 ($25 annual) | Yes; length not stated |
| Cairrot | Position in Perplexity's source list, Arabic among its languages | Starter: ChatGPT, Perplexity (Pro adds Gemini, Claude, DeepSeek) | $39 | "Try For Free"; terms not stated |
| ZipTie | Paying per prompt, engine and cadence | Your pick of ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, AI Mode, Copilot, Bing AI Overview, Gemini | From $42.75 (Starter preset) | 7 days, no card |
| Peec AI | Choosing three engines and several countries | Any 3 of ChatGPT, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Copilot, Gemini, Naver AI | Not published | Yes; length not published |
| Profound | Enterprise tracking across up to nine engines | Trial: ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews; up to 9 on Enterprise | Not published | 7 days, prompts fixed by Profound |
How does each tool track?
"Not stated" means the vendor pages we read did not say.
| Tool | Cadence | What it records | How answers are collected | Market setting |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cituna | Daily | Gaps across seven engines, with a fix written for each | Not assessed in this review | Not assessed in this review |
| Rankscale | Hourly to monthly | Citations; sources box analysis | Interface for Grok, Copilot and AI Overviews; API models listed separately | All regions |
| SE Visible | Daily | Top-cited domains and URLs; source categories | Browser interface, not the API | 7 countries, 5 languages |
| LLM Pulse | Weekly or daily | Mentions, citations, source intelligence | Not stated | Country and language per prompt |
| Otterly.AI | Daily | Link citations; domain ranking | Not stated | 50+ countries |
| Cairrot | Not stated | Where each cited page sits in Perplexity's source list | Not stated | City or region; 10 languages incl. Arabic |
| ZipTie | Daily, weekly or monthly | Citations; top-10 organic results beside AI Overviews checks | Not stated | Not stated |
| Peec AI | Daily | Source analytics, citation share, domain and URL detail | Not stated | Countries per plan |
| Profound | Daily | Citations, sentiment, ranking, competitive presence | Not stated | Trial: 1 language, 1 region |
How this list works
This page reviews stand-alone trackers only, not SEO suites, and looks at how each one tracks. If you want tools ranked on what the entry plan includes, suites included, see the 10 best AI visibility tools in 2026.
Cituna comes first because it is the one tool here we use hands-on: High Street uses it in its own client work. It is included for that reason and held to the same questions as every other entry. We did not log in to the paid dashboards of the other eight, so each of their reviews rests on the vendor's own pages, read on 28 September 2026, and says what those pages leave out.
The other eight are ordered by how much the vendor's own pages let us check, across five points: how answers are collected, cadence, what is recorded, market setting, and a readable price. Ties go to the tool whose price we could read, then alphabetically. We did not test accuracy for any tool, Cituna included: that needs the same questions run through every tool on the same day, with every citation checked by hand.
What should a tracker record?
Mentions, citations and position. A mention is your brand named in the answer. A citation is your page shown as a source. Position is where you appear in either list. Engines cite very different numbers of sites. In our Cituna scan of 22 buyer questions across seven engines on 28 September 2026, Perplexity answers cited 19.3 sites on average, Claude 9.1, AI Overviews 8.0, AI Mode 7.8, Grok 4.6, Gemini 4.1 and ChatGPT 4.0. A tool that counts only mentions misses the sources, and the sources are where you can act. Our research on where AI answers come from goes deeper.
Live answers or the API. Some tools read each engine through its own interface, the way a buyer sees it. Others query the model through its API, a separate product from the app a buyer types into. Of the eight rivals here, only SE Visible and Rankscale say which they do.
Cadence. Answers change from day to day, so a weekly check can miss a change for six days. Daily costs more: LLM Pulse's Starter plan is €49 a month weekly and €79 daily.
The full answer text. In the same scan, 20 of the 153 answers named no tool at all. Some were how-to answers, but Gemini read "best Profound alternative" as a question about a streetwear brand, and Claude asked what Profound was. A score of "not mentioned" hides misreads like these, so pick a tracker that lets you read the answer.
The 9 trackers, reviewed
1. Cituna (best for daily checks on seven engines, with fixes written)
Cituna checks your buyer questions every day on seven engines: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode. When it finds a gap, it writes the fix and can publish the article. Google Search Console and MCP are included. Plans are $39, $119 or $399 a month, with a 3-day trial that needs a card. Checked 28 September 2026.
How it tracks: this is the one tool on the list we use hands-on. The 28 September 2026 scan quoted on this page, 22 buyer questions across seven engines, came from it.
What we could not verify: we have not run the same questions through a second tracker on the same day, so we make no claim about how its results compare with any other tool's.
Strength: daily checks on seven engines, including Claude, Grok and AI Mode, from $39, and it writes the fix for each gap instead of stopping at a report.
Limit: it does not track Microsoft Copilot, the trial lasts three days and needs a card, and pricing comes in three fixed tiers.
Pick it if: you want every major engine except Copilot checked daily, with the work of fixing gaps started for you. Cituna's pricing page
2. Rankscale (best for setting your own cadence)
Rankscale sells credits you spend on engine runs. Essentials costs $20 a month (120 credits in our 25 September record), Pro $99 for 1,200 credits and ten brand dashboards, and Growth $385 adds white-label options and a REST API. A run on AI Mode, ChatGPT, Perplexity or Gemini costs 0.25 credits, DeepSeek 1 and Claude 2. Pro has a 7-day free trial with no charge until day 7. Checked 28 September 2026.
How it tracks: Rankscale says it queries engines through their interfaces or through the API. Its engine list marks Grok, Copilot and AI Overviews as interface engines and lists API models (Perplexity Sonar, GPT-5, Gemini) separately. Cadence runs from hourly to monthly, it records citations and analyses the sources box, and all regions are available on every plan.
What we could not verify: whether ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity themselves are read through the interface or the API, and the credit rate for AI Overviews, which the calculator does not show.
Strength: a per-engine statement of collection method, and the widest cadence range here.
Limit: credit billing makes the cost depend on your engine mix, and a Claude run costs eight times a ChatGPT run.
Pick it if: you want to choose how often each engine is checked. Rankscale's pricing page
3. SE Visible (best for long question lists read through a browser)
SE Visible is SE Ranking's stand-alone AI tracker. Basic costs $99 a month for 200 prompts, about 30,000 AI answers a month and three projects, on ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Mode, Perplexity and AI Overviews. There is a 10-day free trial. Checked 28 September 2026.
How it tracks: SE Visible says it collects answers through a browser interface, not the API. It checks daily and records top-cited domains and URLs with source categories. It lists seven countries (US, UK, Canada, France, Germany, Netherlands, Spain) and five languages.
What we could not verify: sentiment is marked "coming soon" in the product menu while the FAQ describes sentiment insights. Claude is announced as "will be added soon", and an API exists but the plan that includes it is not stated.
Strength: 200 prompts for $99, collected the way a buyer sees the answer.
Limit: no Claude yet, no Copilot or Grok, and no UAE market or Arabic.
Pick it if: you track many questions in its seven markets. SE Visible's pricing
4. LLM Pulse (best for weekly tracking at a lower price)
LLM Pulse prices each plan twice, once for weekly and once for daily tracking. Starter is €49 a month weekly or €79 daily for 50 prompts, one project and five engines: ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Mode, AI Overviews and Gemini. MCP is on every plan. The 14-day trial covers weekly plans and needs a payment method; daily plans start right away. Checked 28 September 2026.
How it tracks: it records mentions, citations and source intelligence. In our 25 September 2026 record, countries and languages are set per prompt. Claude, Copilot and Grok are paid add-ons.
What we could not verify: whether answers are collected through each engine's interface or its API. The pages we read do not say.
Strength: five engines, including both Google AI surfaces, and MCP on the entry plan, with a cheaper weekly option.
Limit: daily tracking costs about 60% more, prices are in euros with VAT added by billing country, and Claude is an add-on.
Pick it if: a weekly trend is enough and you want both Google AI surfaces covered. LLM Pulse's pricing page
5. Otterly.AI (best for a small daily question set with Copilot included)
Otterly Lite costs $29 a month, or $25 billed annually, for 15 prompts on ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity and Copilot, with unlimited team members. AI Mode and Gemini are $9 a month each on Lite and Claude $29. Checked 28 September 2026.
How it tracks: daily, with a Link Citations Analysis and a Domain Ranking report. Every plan covers more than 50 countries.
What we could not verify: the collection method, the languages it supports, and the length of the free trial.
Strength: daily tracking with Copilot on every plan, from $29 with unlimited team members.
Limit: no Grok, only 15 prompts and one workspace on Lite, and engine add-ons stack up fast.
Pick it if: you need a small daily set of questions on ChatGPT, Google and Copilot. Otterly.AI's pricing page
6. Cairrot (best for position in Perplexity's source list)
Cairrot Starter costs $39 a month for ChatGPT and Perplexity, 15 prompts, up to three team members and API access. Pro ($99) adds Gemini, Claude and DeepSeek with 40 prompts, and Grok is an add-on from $25. A "Try For Free" button is shown without terms. Checked 28 September 2026.
How it tracks: in our 25 September 2026 record, Cairrot records where each cited page lands in Perplexity's source list, tracks by city or region, and names ten languages including Arabic. We compare it with other Perplexity tools in the best Perplexity rank trackers.
What we could not verify: the refresh rate and brands per plan are not stated. The plan cards list DeepSeek while the same page says DeepSeek insights are coming soon.
Strength: the only tool here that says it records your position in the source list, with Arabic named.
Limit: two engines on Starter, and no AI Mode or Copilot.
Pick it if: Perplexity sources matter most and you track Arabic or city-level questions. Cairrot's pricing page
7. ZipTie (best for paying per prompt, engine and cadence)
ZipTie prices by prompt slots, engines and cadence; its Starter preset starts at $42.75 a month. Engines include ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, AI Mode, Copilot, Bing AI Overview and Gemini. The 7-day trial gives 25 daily prompts on three engines with no card, and API and MCP are a $10 add-on. Checked 28 September 2026.
How it tracks: in daily, weekly or monthly slots. With AI Overviews and Bing AI Overview checks it captures citations and the top 10 organic results. Search Console connects by OAuth.
What we could not verify: the pages we read state neither a country setting nor the collection method.
Strength: you pay only for the engines and cadence you choose, with organic results beside each AI Overview.
Limit: no Claude or Grok, and ZipTie does not refund paid subscriptions.
Pick it if: you track many prompts on one or two engines. ZipTie's pricing page
8. Peec AI (best for choosing three engines and several countries)
Peec AI's Starter plan tracks 50 prompts daily on any three of ChatGPT, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Copilot, Gemini and Naver AI, with unlimited users. Extra models are paid add-ons. Plan prices are not published: they were not in the page we read on 28 September 2026. A free trial is offered.
How it tracks: daily on self-serve plans, with source analytics, citation share and domain and URL detail. Its full model list names "GPT-5 Search API" as a separate option from ChatGPT.
What we could not verify: how each model is collected, and the country limit: the FAQ says any supported country costs nothing extra, while the comparison table caps Starter at one.
Strength: you choose the engines, and every plan has unlimited users.
Limit: three models per self-serve plan, Claude and Grok outside the self-serve choices, and no readable price.
Pick it if: you know your buyers' three engines and are willing to ask for a price. Peec AI's pricing page
9. Profound (best for enterprise tracking across up to nine engines)
Profound gives brands a free 7-day trial: 50 prompts a day on ChatGPT, Gemini and AI Overviews, in one language and region. After that comes custom Enterprise pricing with up to nine engines, including Perplexity, AI Mode, Copilot, Claude, DeepSeek and Exa Search. Checked 28 September 2026.
How it tracks: daily. Its FAQ says it tracks citations, sentiment, ranking and competitive presence.
What we could not verify: any paid price, and whether it tracks your own questions well: the trial uses a recommended industry prompt set you cannot edit, with no history, exports or API.
Strength: one of the longest named engine lists, with SSO/SAML and SOC 2 on Enterprise.
Limit: no self-serve plan, and Grok is not named.
Pick it if: you are an enterprise buying through a sales process. Profound's pricing page
What do the engines say is the best tracker?
We asked. In the 28 September 2026 scan, the question "best AI visibility tracking tool" got a different list from every engine. Profound, Peec AI and Semrush were named by six of the seven. Otterly.AI, Ahrefs and Frase were named by four, Rankscale by two (AI Overviews and AI Mode), and ZipTie by one (Gemini).
Each engine named between 5 and 10 tools. The sources behind them varied just as much: Perplexity's answer cited 18 sites, Gemini's and Grok's 4 each. A yes-or-no mention tells you little about what to fix.
How do I test a tracker before I pay?
- Pick ten questions your buyers ask. Use their words, not your keywords.
- Run them by hand on day one in each engine you care about. Note who is named and which pages are cited. Our guide to checking whether ChatGPT recommends your business shows how.
- Load the same ten into the trial with the same country and language.
- Compare after three days. Do the names and sources match what you saw? Can you open the full answer text?
- Price the engines you need, add-ons included, before the trial ends.
Full checklist: how to choose an AI visibility tool.
Questions people ask
What is the best AI visibility tracking tool?
It depends on how you want answers tracked. Cituna checks seven engines daily from $39 and writes the fix for each gap; High Street uses it in client work. Rankscale lets you set cadence from hourly to monthly and says which engines it reads through their interface. SE Visible tracks 200 prompts for $99 and says it collects answers through a browser interface. Prices checked 28 September 2026.
Do AI visibility trackers use live answers or the API?
Most do not say. Of the nine tools reviewed here, SE Visible states that it collects answers through a browser interface rather than the API, and Rankscale marks which engines it reads through their interface and lists API models separately. The other seven pages we read on 28 September 2026 do not state the method.
What is the difference between a mention, a citation and a position?
A mention is your brand named in the answer text. A citation is your web page shown as a source for the answer. A position is where you appear, either in the order of brands named or in the list of sources. A tracker that counts only mentions misses the sources an engine reads, which is where you can act.
How often should an AI visibility tool check?
Daily if you are changing pages and want to see the effect, or if you report to clients weekly. Weekly is enough for a steady trend and costs less: LLM Pulse charges EUR 49 a month for weekly tracking and EUR 79 for daily on its Starter plan (checked 28 September 2026).
Can I trust an AI visibility tool's numbers?
Check them before you rely on them. Run ten of your questions by hand in each engine on the day your trial starts, and compare with what the tool records. Look at the full answer text too: in our 28 September 2026 scan, 20 of 153 answers named no tool at all, some because the engine misread the question.
Rather hand the tracking to someone else?
We track our clients' buyer questions on seven AI engines, fix what keeps them out, and measure it every week, engine by engine. It starts with a free check of your own questions, and you don't sign anything to see it.
Get a free visibility check