Buyer's guide

7 Best AthenaHQ Alternatives for 2026 (Cheaper Picks)

The best cheaper AthenaHQ alternatives in 2026 are Rankscale (from $20 a month) and Keyword.com (from $7.83 a month billed annually) if you want most of AthenaHQ's long engine list on credits, Cituna ($39) if you want seven engines checked daily with Search Console and MCP included, and SE Ranking ($129) if you want an API on the entry plan. Every pick starts below the $295 a month of AthenaHQ Starter, and each entry says by how much. We read each price on the vendor's own page on 28 or 29 September 2026.

By High Street editorial teamPublished 29 September 2026Updated 29 September 2026Reading time 12 min

Key takeaways

  • AthenaHQ has a free Essential plan (300 credits, five engines), then Starter at $295 a month (3,600 credits, eleven models, Search Console and GA4), with nothing in between (checked 28 September 2026).
  • All seven picks start below $295. The lowest entries are Keyword.com at $7.83 a month billed annually and Rankscale at $20.
  • Closest to AthenaHQ's engine list: Rankscale covers 10 of its 11 models, Keyword.com 9 and Trakkr 8.
  • Search Console below $295: Keyword.com (every plan), Cituna (included) and SE Ranking Core.
  • If 300 credits across five engines is enough, AthenaHQ's own free plan costs less than any pick here.

Want to know which engines matter before you commit to credits? Get a free visibility check across seven AI engines, Google and Maps.

What does AthenaHQ cost in 2026?

AthenaHQ is the baseline here, not a numbered entry. Its plans page, checked on 28 September 2026, lists three tiers.

  • Essential, free. $25 of free credit (300 credits) on ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Gemini and Copilot, with unlimited members, prompt and response analysis, sources and competitor insights, content recommendations and the Athena AI agent.
  • Starter, $295 a month (17% off billed annually). 3,600 credits ($300 of credit a month) across eleven models: ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral. It adds GA4 and Search Console integration, CSV export, on-page and off-page actions, a content optimisation agent and unlimited seats, in a single language and region.
  • Enterprise, custom. Custom credits, API, multiple regions and languages, persona targeting, SAML/OIDC SSO, audit logs and BI dashboards.

One credit is one AI response, so every engine you switch on draws from the same balance. Our arithmetic: at $295 for 3,600 credits, each response costs about 8 cents on Starter.

Why do people leave AthenaHQ?

Going only by AthenaHQ's own page, four reasons stand out.

  • The jump from free to $295. There is no plan between Essential and Starter.
  • Credit billing. Cost depends on how many engines and prompts you run, so the bill is harder to predict than a flat prompt count.
  • Unpriced extras. The API on Starter and extra credits are paid add-ons with no published price.
  • One market on Starter. Multiple regions and languages need Enterprise, and MCP and refresh cadence aren't stated.

What does AthenaHQ still do well?

AthenaHQ lists eleven models on its first paid tier, including Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral. That is the longest engine list at a published price we found. It has a free plan with real data, Search Console and GA4 on Starter, and unlimited seats. None of the seven picks below matches all of that for less.

So the question is which part of AthenaHQ you actually use. If it's the full eleven models and the free plan is too small, $295 may be fair. If you need fewer engines, a fixed bill or more than one market, the picks below cost less.

How do the seven cheaper picks compare?

From each vendor's own pricing page, checked 28 September 2026 (Keyword.com and Trakkr 29 September 2026; Rankscale's credit count 25 September 2026). Monthly billing unless stated; prices before VAT.
ToolBest forEngines coveredEntry priceFree trial
AthenaHQ (baseline)Eleven models at one published price11 on Starter; 5 on the free planFree; Starter $295No trial; free plan
1. RankscaleAthenaHQ's engine list on a credit budget10, incl. Grok, Copilot, DeepSeek, Mistral$207 days on Pro
2. Keyword.comPaying per engine update9, incl. Copilot, Claude, DeepSeek, Mistral$7.83 billed annually ($94 a year)14 days, no card
3. TrakkrGrok, DeepSeek and Meta AI at a flat price8; no Copilot or AI Mode$10014 days, card required
4. CitunaSeven engines daily with Search Console and MCP7, incl. Claude, Grok, AI Mode; no Copilot$393 days, card required
5. SE RankingAPI and MCP on the entry plan5; no Claude, Grok or Copilot$129 ($103.20 annually)14 days, no card
6. Otterly.AICopilot on a low-cost plan4, incl. Copilot; 3 more as add-ons$29 ($25 annually)Yes, length not stated
7. GeoptieFour engines per brand across 123 marketsAny 4 of 7, incl. Claude and Copilot$49 (about $41 annually)Not stated

How this list works

We read each vendor's own pricing page on 28 or 29 September 2026. To qualify, a tool had to publish an entry price below AthenaHQ Starter's $295 a month and name the engines it tracks. All seven also start below Starter's annual rate, which is about $245 a month after the 17% discount (our arithmetic).

We then ordered them by how many of AthenaHQ Starter's eleven models the entry plan can track. Ties go to the lower entry price. Scores: Rankscale 10, Keyword.com 9, Trakkr 8, Cituna 7, SE Ranking 5, Otterly.AI 4, Geoptie 4 (any four at a time).

Cituna is included because High Street uses it in its own client work, and it is held to the same test as the others. We did not score answer accuracy, which would need every tool run on the same questions on the same day and checked by hand. For a view of all price bands, see how much you should pay for AI visibility tools.

The 7 best cheaper AthenaHQ alternatives

1. Rankscale (best for AthenaHQ's engine list on a credit budget)

Rankscale works in credits, like AthenaHQ, and says it queries engines through their interfaces or through the API. It covers ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Claude, DeepSeek, Mistral, and, through the interface, Grok, Copilot and AI Overviews. Essentials is $20 a month (checked 28 September 2026), $275 below AthenaHQ Starter, with 120 credits (listed 25 September 2026). Pro is $99 for 1,200 credits, up to 4,800 answers, 10 brand dashboards and all regions, with a 7-day trial and no charge until day 7.

Strength: ten of AthenaHQ's eleven models, all but Meta AI, and every region on every plan, where AthenaHQ Starter allows one. Scheduling runs from hourly to monthly, and unused credits roll over.

Limit: a run costs 0.25 credits on ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini or AI Mode but 2 on Claude, so the bill still depends on your engine mix. Search Console isn't stated, and the REST API starts on Growth at $385.

Pick it if: you want AthenaHQ's breadth and several regions for under $100 a month. Rankscale pricing and credit rates

2. Keyword.com (best for paying per engine update)

Keyword.com's AI Visibility plan starts at $7.83 a month billed annually, or $94 a year, at its smallest credit tier (checked 29 September 2026), $287 below AthenaHQ Starter. Tiers run from 20 to 2,000 credits. An update costs 0.25 credits on AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini or Copilot, 1 on DeepSeek, 2 on Mistral and 3 on Claude. Every plan includes Search Console, and the plan adds citations, sentiment, competitor tracking, prompt research, shared live reports and an AI Visibility API. The trial runs 14 days with no card, 100 keywords and 20 credits.

Strength: nine of AthenaHQ's eleven models, with Search Console and an API, at the lowest entry price on this page.

Limit: the entry tier's credits run out fast with daily refresh or Claude, which costs twelve times a ChatGPT update. Grok and Meta AI aren't offered, and tracking markets aren't published.

Pick it if: you track a small, precise set of prompts and want to pay only for the engines and refresh rate you use. Keyword.com AI Visibility pricing

3. Trakkr (best for Grok, DeepSeek and Meta AI at a flat price)

Trakkr's Growth plan is $100 a month or $1,000 a year (checked 29 September 2026), $195 below AthenaHQ Starter. It covers one brand, 50 prompts and eight models checked daily: ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Grok, DeepSeek and Meta AI. It adds 25 article credits a month, three seats and MCP. Scale, at $500, covers ten brands with a white-label portal and REST API. The 14-day trial needs a card.

Strength: the same eight models on every plan at a flat price, so there's no credit balance to watch.

Limit: no Copilot or Google AI Mode, both of which AthenaHQ Starter includes. Three seats, against AthenaHQ's unlimited, and Search Console isn't published.

Pick it if: Grok, DeepSeek and Meta AI matter to your buyers and you want a predictable bill. Trakkr plans

4. Cituna (best for seven engines daily with Search Console and MCP)

Cituna checks your buyer questions every day on seven engines: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode. When it finds a gap, it writes the fix and can publish the article. Google Search Console and MCP are included. Plans are $39, $119 or $399 a month, with a 3-day trial that needs a card. The $39 entry is $256 below AthenaHQ Starter.

Strength: Search Console, which AthenaHQ keeps for Starter, and MCP, which AthenaHQ doesn't state, on a fixed monthly price with no credit balance.

Limit: it does not track Microsoft Copilot, which AthenaHQ includes even on its free plan. The trial is three days and needs a card, and the plans are fixed tiers.

Pick it if: you need Claude, Grok and AI Mode checked daily next to Search Console, with a written fix for each gap. Cituna's pricing page

5. SE Ranking (best for API and MCP on the entry plan)

SE Ranking's Core plan is $129 a month, or $103.20 billed annually (checked 28 September 2026), $166 below AthenaHQ Starter. It includes 10 projects, one manager seat, 100 prompts tracked daily on ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, AI Overviews and AI Mode, 25,000 API credits, MCP, and GA4 and Search Console integration, next to rank tracking and audits. The trial is 14 days with no card.

Strength: API and MCP included on the entry plan, where AthenaHQ sells its Starter API as an add-on with no published price.

Limit: no Claude, Grok or Copilot. Core has one manager seat, extra seats start at $16, and payments are non-refundable.

Pick it if: you want AI tracking, SEO data and an API in one account. SE Ranking subscription plans

6. Otterly.AI (best for Copilot on a low-cost plan)

Otterly's Lite plan is $29 a month, or $25 billed annually (checked 28 September 2026), $266 below AthenaHQ Starter. It checks 15 prompts daily on ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity and Copilot, with unlimited team members and support for more than 50 countries. On Lite, AI Mode and Gemini are $9 add-ons and Claude is $29, so seven engines cost $76 a month, still below $295. Standard, at $189, adds 100 prompts, API and MCP.

Strength: Copilot on every plan with a flat, published price.

Limit: 15 prompts on Lite with no extra-prompt pack, no Grok, and no Search Console. The trial's length isn't stated.

Pick it if: your buyers work in Microsoft tools and a small prompt set will do. See our Otterly alternatives guide if its add-ons worry you. Otterly.AI pricing and add-ons

7. Geoptie (best for four engines per brand across 123 markets)

Geoptie's Starter plan is $49 a month on monthly billing ($588 a year) or $490 a year, about $41 a month (checked 28 September 2026), so $246 below AthenaHQ Starter. It covers 15 prompts, two brands, 123 markets, daily checks, unlimited audits and content generation, and unlimited team members. Each brand tracks any four of seven engines: ChatGPT, Claude, Perplexity, Gemini, Copilot, AI Mode and AI Overviews. Professional, at $99, covers ten brands with white-label reports, a REST API and MCP.

Strength: 123 markets on every plan, where AthenaHQ Starter allows one region, and Claude or Copilot at entry.

Limit: four engines per brand and no Grok. A prompt tracked in three countries uses three prompts, and a free trial and Search Console aren't stated.

Pick it if: you track brands in several markets and four engines are enough. Geoptie pricing

Which alternatives do AI engines suggest?

In our Cituna scan of 22 buyer questions across seven engines on 28 September 2026, the question "AthenaHQ alternative" drew these names: Profound in all seven answers, Otterly.AI, Peec AI and Scrunch in five, Rankability in four, and LLMrefs and Promptwatch in two. Rankscale, Cituna, Knowatoa, LLM Pulse and SE Ranking were named once each.

Several of the most-named options aren't cheaper in a way you can check. Profound publishes no paid price for brands, and Peec AI's plan prices weren't on the page we read on 28 September 2026. If you ask an engine for cheaper options, check the price on the vendor's own page.

Which cheaper tools did we leave off?

Several tools also start below $295 (checked 28 and 29 September 2026) but cover fewer of AthenaHQ's models at entry: Scrunch Core at $250 (four engines), SE Visible at $99 (five), Nightwatch at €79 (six, no Copilot) and Ahrefs Brand Radar custom prompts from $50 (seven, but billed per check and location). Our Scrunch alternatives guide and Profound alternatives guide cover them. Rankability's $99 tracker price could not be reconfirmed: its tracker page returned a 404 on 29 September 2026.

How do I switch from AthenaHQ?

  1. Export what you track. Starter includes CSV export: save your prompts, competitors and recent results before you change plans.
  2. Count the engines you really use. If you only watch four or five, a cheaper pick may cover them. If Copilot is one, Cituna and Trakkr are out.
  3. Match the market. Use the same country and language in the new tool so the answers compare.
  4. Run both for one to two weeks. Keep AthenaHQ running while you trial the new tool, with the same prompts on the same engines, and compare mentions, citations and competitors named.
  5. Reconnect Search Console and GA4. Keyword.com, Cituna and SE Ranking list Search Console; check the others first.
  6. Consider the free Essential plan before you cancel. It covers five engines at no cost, which keeps a basic view while the new tool beds in.

Questions people ask

How much does AthenaHQ cost in 2026?

On 28 September 2026 AthenaHQ listed a free Essential plan with $25 of credit (300 credits), Starter at $295 a month (17% off billed annually) with 3,600 credits, and custom Enterprise pricing.

What is the cheapest AthenaHQ alternative?

Of the seven picks, Keyword.com has the lowest entry: $7.83 a month billed annually, or $94 a year, at its smallest credit tier (checked 29 September 2026). Rankscale Essentials is $20 a month. AthenaHQ's own Essential plan is free, which is cheaper than any of them.

Which cheaper alternative tracks the most of AthenaHQ's engines?

Rankscale covers 10 of the 11 Starter models, all but Meta AI, billed in credits from $20 a month. Keyword.com covers 9 and Trakkr 8 (checked 28 and 29 September 2026).

Which cheaper alternatives include Google Search Console?

Keyword.com lists Search Console on every plan, Cituna includes it, and SE Ranking's $129 Core plan has it. AthenaHQ lists Search Console and GA4 on Starter, not on the free plan card.

Is AthenaHQ's free plan enough?

It gives 300 credits, and one credit is one AI response, across ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Gemini and Copilot. That is enough to see real answers for a small prompt set. Claude, Grok, AI Mode and Search Console start on Starter.

Does Cituna track Copilot like AthenaHQ?

No. Cituna checks seven engines daily: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode. It does not track Microsoft Copilot, which AthenaHQ includes even on its free plan.

Know what you need before you buy credits

We'll run your customers' questions through seven AI engines and show you where you're named, where you're not, and what to fix first. Then you can size a plan to the gaps you have.

Get a free visibility check

Or read how our AI search visibility service works.